49 seasons, 6897 episodes
Genre: Scripted, Drama, Soaps
Network: 0
Premiere: 15/Oct/1972
Status: Returning

             Emmerdale airs on the ITV network in the United Kingdom. The series orginally aired in the afternoons but became an early evening show in the early 1980s. It was orginally called Emmerdale Farm but was renamed just Emmerdale in 1989. The central family on the show since the beginning has been the Sugdens.